PDA

View Full Version : My aunt's website.



rukisuto
08-25-2008, 04:59 PM
You know I love asking your guys' opinions :]

Anyways, this is my aun't website I'm designing.
She makes closets for people.
She requested the site to be sleek and professional looking, so I was kind of going for minimalistic.

It's definitely not done yet, but tell me your thoughts :]

http://www.closetcraft.org/

Jaykub
08-25-2008, 05:33 PM
In all subjects its a good start. 7/10 Could use alot more stuff

LiNuX
08-25-2008, 05:36 PM
nice layout - great logo, goes really well - good luck finishing, hope you will center it all later :D

rukisuto
08-25-2008, 05:41 PM
nice layout - great logo, goes really well - good luck finishing, hope you will center it all later :D

I'm actually having a bit of trouble.
I had it centered with tables and it looked fine on firefox, but not on IE.
On IE there were spaces between everything.

I made sure that the cellspacing and cellpadding were 0.. am I missing something?

LiNuX
08-25-2008, 05:48 PM
I'm actually having a bit of trouble.
I had it centered with tables and it looked fine on firefox, but not on IE.
On IE there were spaces between everything.

I made sure that the cellspacing and cellpadding were 0.. am I missing something?

ah i hate IE, remember the theme i showed you that i was working on? perfect in FF, go to IE, the navbar is centered, on the second page, the left most line is like 50 pixels longer and it ticked me off yesterday, i worked like 8 hours trying to fix it and failed

IE is retarded, I am trying to find the same fix for me

and i think it may be the tables themselves, my navbar is in tables and i will probably change it up to div tags instead

what you can do is wrap the whole thing in div tags, put something like <div id="wrapper"> right after your <body> tag and close up the div tag before </body>

then go to CSS and put in something like:



#wrapper {
text-align: left;
width: 820px;
margin: 0 auto 0 auto;
}


make sure the width is what you want it to be - it usually centers and uses up the pixels you specify

i also have a huge headache right now so i may have missed some stuff, will look back later and see if i can help you out a bit

conman1000
08-25-2008, 05:51 PM
Looks pretty good so far, nice job.

rukisuto
08-25-2008, 05:55 PM
Thanks for the help :]
If it doesn't work I'll just stick to the div's and keep it to the left.
I just don't understand because I made a website a little bit ago using IE and the tables worked just fine.

Screw IE, lol.

LiNuX
08-25-2008, 06:51 PM
Thanks for the help :]
If it doesn't work I'll just stick to the div's and keep it to the left.
I just don't understand because I made a website a little bit ago using IE and the tables worked just fine.

Screw IE, lol.

THATS WHAT I SAID - i was having a friend help me (jasperking) trying to figure out why that's happening - also in IE 6 on my template's plans page, you saw lots of blue dots lol - took me 3 hours to fix it

as for this just set the width to something, it'll auto center - use div tag like i showed above and just wrap it around the whole body and put some pixels

for my template i use this:



#wrapper {
margin: 0 auto 0 auto;
width: 1023px;
text-align: left;
}

you can even try that if you want - you may have to change the width a little bit since yours seems a bit smaller and see if it auto centers. make sure you have the wrapper id around the thing and i also noticed you put your css with your html in the same file - i doubt it has anything to do with it but meh...i code another way lol

i just wish my graphics and design skills were as high as my coding lol - but good luck with this, i headache is still here though :(

rukisuto
08-25-2008, 07:01 PM
AHH.
You totally rule, thanks so much :]

BTW, what do you think of the hover buttons I put on there?

LiNuX
08-25-2008, 07:06 PM
listening to me works eh...? lol

nice work with the buttons :) will there be more images in the button? seems like empty spots and stuff can go in there

good job there :D good luck with the rest of it, i'm sure it'll be good

edit: i think i know what happened but i can't say much without seeing what it looked like in IE and you removed the div tags anyway lol

looking at your coding, we really work in VERY different ways lol

rukisuto
08-25-2008, 07:07 PM
listening to me works eh...? lol

nice work with the buttons :) will there be more images in the button? seems like empty spots and stuff can go in there

good job there :D good luck with the rest of it, i'm sure it'll be good

Oh no, looks like you're wrong.
The wrapper doesn't work in IE.
I'm about to flip a nut, lol.

LiNuX
08-25-2008, 07:09 PM
Oh no, looks like you're wrong.
The wrapper doesn't work in IE.
I'm about to flip a nut, lol.

i never said it would work in ie, i also said i hate ie lol - but what happens in IE? i don't have it installed so i can't check without getting it first

rukisuto
08-25-2008, 07:52 PM
i never said it would work in ie, i also said i hate ie lol - but what happens in IE? i don't have it installed so i can't check without getting it first

Oh, sorry. I misunderstood.
Nothing happens, it just sits to the left because there's to attribute to tell it where to go, lol.

I'll try to keep messing with the tables.

LiNuX
08-25-2008, 08:01 PM
Oh, sorry. I misunderstood.
Nothing happens, it just sits to the left because there's to attribute to tell it where to go, lol.

I'll try to keep messing with the tables.

you have the other div tags in there telling it stuff lol

what i do is just make div tags all over - div ID or div class and in css tell them where to go, it works for me but we function differently coding wise lol

my css file alone is like 300 lines - like 5 pages total and i find it much easier to manage, easier and cleaner than tables

and IE is retarded to mess up on BOTH tables and div tags on certain templates, I have only made a few template that was both compatible with FF and IE and they were all wordpress themes - only finished like 3 and one sucked on IE and i have a few incomplete because i screwed up on both browsers

rukisuto
08-25-2008, 08:13 PM
you have the other div tags in there telling it stuff lol

what i do is just make div tags all over - div ID or div class and in css tell them where to go, it works for me but we function differently coding wise lol

my css file alone is like 300 lines - like 5 pages total and i find it much easier to manage, easier and cleaner than tables

and IE is retarded to mess up on BOTH tables and div tags on certain templates, I have only made a few template that was both compatible with FF and IE and they were all wordpress themes - only finished like 3 and one sucked on IE and i have a few incomplete because i screwed up on both browsers

I've worked with style sheets before, but for a site like this I don't think it's too necessary.
I've used them with old graphic sites I used to have, and they are handy.
I don't feel like uploading it everytime I make a change though, lol.

I can't seem to find the problem.
There's a space between the top cell and the second cell, but the second cell and the third cell sit nicely together.
It's pissing me off.

LiNuX
08-25-2008, 08:19 PM
uh...div tags come to mind again lol - dam wish this headache was gone, it would help me think

but um..dam..i actually lost my thought why trying to write this sentence

try to manipulate the div tags and place them there or something....

rukisuto
08-25-2008, 08:29 PM
uh...div tags come to mind again lol - dam wish this headache was gone, it would help me think

but um..dam..i actually lost my thought why trying to write this sentence

try to manipulate the div tags and place them there or something....

I GOT IT. I WIN.
lol.

Got it all figured out, and now it works on both.
Thanks a bunch for your help :]

LiNuX
08-25-2008, 08:30 PM
nice, what did you do? lol, just want to know out of curiosity

rukisuto
08-25-2008, 08:33 PM
nice, what did you do? lol, just want to know out of curiosity

I created a div inside the <td> tag for the image map.
Then I set the background to equal the background of the second cell.
So, the background covered up whatever was creating the extra space in the table.

At least it's gone :]

LiNuX
08-25-2008, 09:27 PM
ah..yeah that's the way to go! lol good job though :D and good luck finishing

rukisuto
08-25-2008, 09:35 PM
ah..yeah that's the way to go! lol good job though :D and good luck finishing

Thanks :]
You're the only one who ever really cares about my designs, lol.

LiNuX
08-25-2008, 10:05 PM
Thanks :]
You're the only one who ever really cares about my designs, lol.

maybe its because I can design my own stuff and i know how tense it can get when coding - but for me the tense part is the design lol, still not good at picking good colors that go with each other, only get lucky sometimes :D

but yeah. really want to see the finished product when its done.

rukisuto
08-26-2008, 09:26 AM
maybe its because I can design my own stuff and i know how tense it can get when coding - but for me the tense part is the design lol, still not good at picking good colors that go with each other, only get lucky sometimes :D

but yeah. really want to see the finished product when its done.

Of course :]

You know what I find easy about colors?
I hardly think about it when I put them together, and most of the time it turns out good, lol.
If it doesn't, I just change it.

I find when I think too much it's usually the same color in different shades, lol.

LiNuX
08-26-2008, 11:22 AM
Of course :]

You know what I find easy about colors?
I hardly think about it when I put them together, and most of the time it turns out good, lol.
If it doesn't, I just change it.

I find when I think too much it's usually the same color in different shades, lol.

i close my eyes and on the PS color thing, i randomly pick - beat that level of "not thinking" lol - i always pick something crappy or not

but for my last template, i picked a good shade of blue lol and another lighter color to go with it :D i am better off making sigs because i pick the render to work with and try to match up

but once i get past the colors of the template its easier for me lol, i can code pretty quickly quickly so thats my easy part lol

KittyCat72
08-27-2008, 05:25 PM
Looks good so far... can't see it all though because the Wii is loading slow.